Burbage Moor Navigation

On days when I don’t want to run too far I prefer to practice my navigation skills.  Burbage Moor is a small area of moorland close to Sheffield that is relatively flat with few features and so offers a challenge for those wanting to work on their micro-navigation.

Burbage Moor’s featureless terrain

The featureless terrain makes precise navigation tricky and to complicate matters the area close to the pond is also waterlogged with some large marshy puddles.

studying the map

The Ordnance Survey 1:25,000 map shows a tiny pond approximately 200 metres west of the Houndkirk Road.  I decided that I would try to find it by counting my paces and walking on a compass bearing.  Counting 400 metres from the bend in the track I took a bearing to the north-west and paced another 300 metres.  Deep heather and wet ground added a further difficulty when counting paces but I managed to locate a small area of water which I took to be the pond.

Burbage Moor pond

Satisfied that I was in the right place my next target was the 438m spot height shown on the map 600m north-west.  Again it was a slog through the heather, my bearing taking me close to a small cairn of stones which although on high ground I didn’t think was the spot height.

Rain threatening

By now the sky was threatening the heavy showers that were forecast and the wind had a chill to it so I pushed on, more walking than running through the thick heather.  As I turned towards the north a complete rainbow appeared over the distant Ox Stones.

Rainbow over Ox Stones

I turned East now aiming for the broken wall and as the ground dropped slightly, patches of stony peat showed through the heather.  I followed this still keeping an eye on the rainbow as it arced down into the trees of Lady Canning’s plantation.

Lady Canning’s rainbow

I work my way through the last of the year’s bracken and reach the wall, which I find to be tall and well built and in surprisingly good repair.

wall on Burbage Moor

Following the wall for 300m I come to the Houndkirk Road, an ancient turnpike now resurfaced to prevent further erosion and come across an old milepost giving distances to Tideswell and Buxton.

Houndkirk Road

ancient milepost

A quick trot down the track, back to the car park and home for tea.

route details

About fellrunningguide

Dave Taylor, fell runner and coach. 2015 English Fell Running Champion (V50). I work as Fell Running Guide - offering coaching, guided fell / trail runs and navigation training. www.fellrunningguide.co.uk
This entry was posted in navigation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Burbage Moor Navigation

  1. steverusuk says:

    I have walked the Peaks with my family until we know our favourites like the back of our hands. I usually get to recce our routes, running alone, at night or when the weather is so bad noone will come with me – which is absolutely fine by me.
    The Peak is a wilderness which is as beautiful one day as it is treacherous the next. Your website and blog is a great inspiration for other routes and for armchair recce (great pictures) in the build up for our Christmas visit.
    Love it Dave. I will look out for your signature red top! Run safely! Steve

Leave a Reply

