Baby Food for Distance Runners?

Do you use energy gels for your long distances runs and races?

I do and I tend to find them a little too sweet and sickly.  I use Science in Sport gels and like the fact that they are liquid and so easy to swallow, particularly important when racing as I don’t like chewing things when I’m breathing hard.  However, sometimes I would prefer something that gave me the energy but with a less sugary taste.

One thing that I have found to work quite well is baby food!  Yes those little pouches of mushed up food that I always thought must taste disgusting.  Well a little bit of trial and error with the flavours has led me to one that is actually quite pleasant!

baby food for runners

baby food for runners!

I have tried the Ella’s Kitchen brand and particularly like the mango, yoghurt and rice baby brekkie.  It has no added sugar and the 100g pouch contains 112 kcal compared to 87 kcal in a 60ml gel.  They cost around £1, the same as a gel and the twist top means that you can reseal the pouch if you don’t want to swallow it all in one go.  This also prevents the remnants leaking out into your bag when you’ve finished it.

baby food for runners

112 calories and 20g of carbohydrate

SiS gel

87 calories and 22g of carbohydrate

The mix of fruit and yoghurt gives a tangy rather than sweet taste and the rice means that is slightly thicker than a SiS gel which is designed to be taken without water.

I put the baby food to the test on a long run, you can see what I found in the video.  Before you go though, a quick word of warning – give the fish pie and mashed potato pouches a miss – YUK!!

 

About fellrunningguide

Dave Taylor, fell runner and coach. 2015 English Fell Running Champion (V50). I work as Fell Running Guide - offering coaching, guided fell / trail runs and navigation training. www.fellrunningguide.co.uk
This entry was posted in fell running, Trail Running, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.